It’s Been a While… Part 2

Hello again.

Long time no see.

The bike is sort of in a holding pattern, waiting on the last few things to finish up. Pretty much all of the new parts are in the spare room of Autumn’s and my house. The frame, handlebars, luggage rack, headlight bucket and a few other miscellaneous brackets have all been beautifully powder coated. Some of it has come together, but not much.

The gas tank, fenders and side pieces are in the trunk of my car, waiting for the painter to pick them up from me while I’m at work. I tracked down the Glasurit paint (green) that I wanted and Alan gave me the number of a local guy who will prep and spray it for me. That’s going to be around $800 when it’s done.

Alan still has the motor and is waiting on one more order I have placed for the last few bolts needed to tie everything together there. It looks like I’ll owe Alan about $500 when everything comes together.

Yesterday I dropped the wheels off at Orion’s to get trued and have the tube and tyres put on. The rims I had powder coated black, and bought new stainless steel spokes to replace the crusty, once-chrome spokes that were on the bike. Another $500 on the process of getting the wheels ready to ride.

I don’t have the time at this moment to run through and tally up all of my orders and figure out what I’ve spent so far, but that’s coming soon. I’m really close to the end, here. Just a few more parts to come in from Max BMW, another order from Huckly’s, and then everything can get bolted in place. Last touches will be dropping the painted parts on top and making sure everything works.

There’s a lot of stuff that I decided while I was on hiatus from this blog, and I need to get everything here caught up. For now I want to go over what needs to happen as of right now:

  • Order bits from Huckly’s
  • Get parts to Alan when they arrive
  • Get parts to painter once he’s available
  • Pick up wheels from Orion’s when they’re done
  • Complete parts inventory
  • Cure heat-resistant paint on non-exhaust parts
  • Clean and maybe repaint plastic pieces
  • Create shopping list of peripheries (bar-end mirrors, supplemental tail light, etc.)
  • Tally up order totals and work on my next post
  • Test starter solenoid

Assuming my order from Max BMW ships today or tomorrow and gets here by Saturday, Joel and maybe Nick are going to help me rebuild the front suspension on Sunday.

I keep going back and forth about the rebuilding here, though. The front suspension is really the only thing I can rebuild prior to getting the engine inside the frame, but building that makes it too large to fit into the car to bring to Alan’s. Alan has been open to the idea of the assembly happening at his shop, though I’m feeling like it really is something I’m capable of taking on myself. I just need to stop being afraid of fucking it up and focus on it.

So if the front suspension gets built here at my house, that means the entire thing comes together here. There are benefits to doing it both places and, as far as I know, Alan would be fine with coming here and helping me out if I needed it. The principle benefit to Alan’s shop is that he already has all the tools needed to put it together. I do not. I could buy tools, such, and there are several that I’ll need before any long road trips, but that just means spending even more money before I can ride it.

At any rate, I keep arriving at points where I think all I have to do is wait, and then I find more work that needs to be done. I suppose that’s just how these sorts of things work.

Leave a Reply

